Playing dominoes on the truck….

June 1, 2010

I stopped in Kensington, KS for the night and started for my evening walk. I can’t get out as much as I’d like but I try real hard! About 4 blocks down the highway which doubles as main street, I think, was the Bootleger. From the signage I thought it was a bar, but turned out to be a custom chopper shop. So, image my surprise to see three bikers dudes playing dominoes on the trunk of a car. They taped a cloth the size of a pillow case to the trunk so the wind wouldn’t blow it away and laid the dominoes down on it. And these were real life hard, living biker types, not wanna-bes. Their bikers were parked outside so I walked up and started talking to them about the bikes. ‘No one will believe me if I say I’ve met 3 biker dudes playing dominoes on the trunk of a car. What I ‘d give for my camera’, is how I started the conversation. ‘We got a camera inside for ya’, was the reply. From there I got a tour from the owner as he proudly told me about the various bikes, and what he was doing to them. In a little town of 700 probably, was this chopper shop. And that was the second one I’ve seen today. Down the highway was a chopper shop called Cowboys. Two days later, somewhere in IL, I saw another chopper shop in a little unknown town. Small town America at work….

The clouds I travel under are really amazing at times. Large, billowy white thunder heads rolling up over the fields or mountains. Sometimes filled with rain or lightening. Hope you enjoy.

Ended up in McCook, a small south central NE farming town. Then 235miles dead headed to Salina KS, hopefully to see my best old friend Rudy and his wife Connie. They now own and operate a Schlotzskys sandwich shop there but live in Wichita, KS. He was at home so I just talked to him and then he treated me to dinner. Rudy hired me to run the Sbarro’s in Enid in 1982. The land is pretty flat and has a beauty to it with lush green fields of grain waving to me as I drive by. Old large trees surrounding a farm home that’s probably been there in one shape or another for a 100 years.

Coming out of a shipper in Shawnee, OK, this duck was starting to cross the road as I drove up to the stop sign. Seriously, he looked at me and kept walking towards the road. I thought he’d stop and run away or something….and he did, he kept walking across the street. He took a couple of looks at me, saying, are ya goin’ stop, can’t ya see I’m walkin’ here! So, I stopped and waited. He just marched across the road, like he owned it. Amazing, I guess he figured this was his street and I was in his way!

But this direction won’t get time to Phx anytime soon. However, this load is headed to Laredo, TX and there’s usually freight heading west to the coast from there. Maybe I can drop it somewhere in Phx. They changed their mind abut where I get to go. Drop in Dallas, take a load to Duncan OK; pickup a load in Stillwater, OK and go to Cadillac, MI. Michigan’s not near Phx, so drop in OKC at our terminal there. Sorry no time to see Aaron and Angie, but I should have asked them and give them the opportunity to say no, sorry kids! Pickup in Shawnee, OK and head to Chicago, IL. Maybe there’s freight out of there heading to Phx. Nope, drop in St. Louis, pickup just northeast of there and go to Fremont NE. But wait, we have a terminal in Lincoln, NE, so drop it there and take a loaded trailer that’s on there yard to Denver! And there’s probably a beer load out of Golden to the west coast. There hopefully a short load to Phx before Friday! This is why my life really is crazy!! The terminal we have in OKC actually closes and locks the gate from 6pm-6am everyday. I was about to get a shower. Instead I had to drive to the Pilot TS and shower there. Is that crazy or what? Makes no sense to me but then I just drive a truck.

The weather is much cooler coming out of Lincoln towards Denver. I almost had to get the sleeping bag back out to stay warm. And I’m really surprised there’s still a lot of snow on the Rockies. Coming from the desert, our snows melts pretty quickly. I guess above 12000ft it stays around awhile.

Hope everyone had a wonderful Memorial Day and took the time to say thank-you to those protecting us from harm as well as remembering those who gave their all in that fight. It’s only because of those that we have the right to protest, argue, disagree and enjoy the freedoms all of us take for granted.

A shape Peterbilt, customized with fenders and lowered. Not very fuel efficient but nice to look at. The driver sits very low and far away from the dash, they’re almost hidden from view as you drive by.


Peterbilt 40

Later…

2 Responses to “Playing dominoes on the truck….”

  1. Angie B. said

    Hey there! Sorry we missed ya over the weekend! Sounds like you had a busy weekend anyway. You know…we have showers at our house too that you are welcome to use. We’re pretty much open 24 hrs a day. 😛 Happy travels!

  2. Jordan said

    Amen for Chopper shops.. too bad they will all be closed after Obama is done bringing “change you can believe in” to the economy

Leave a Reply

