Another day…another dollar in debt…

June 23, 2010

Sun rise over the Monument Valley in AZ. Another beautiful morning driving down the road. The shadows caused by the sun as it shines through the monuments casts strange images on the valley’s floor. I wonder what the Indians first thought?

Man, this has been a really long time coming. It doesn’t seem I’ve had the motivation to sit in front of this computer and type how my adventure is revealing itself. I thought coming west with USX would be an improvement. Yet it hasn’t turned out that way. I still have my goal of going out on my own…but this step turned out to be out on a slippery rock and I’ve slipped and gotten wet. But hey, the sun came out this morning, the sky is opening up blue without a cloud for anything to hide behind and I know things will get better….if only at one little bit at a time.

I heard last week I’ve been accepted by Mercer Transportation to join their fleet as soon as I have purchased a truck. So now, the search is on in earnest to find the best truck I can afford. I’ve done my homework; collected data for my expected expenses; lined up information on required licenses, insurance and plates. But the truck will be the hardest part to the puzzle to find and the search is taking awhile. I’m hoping to have it completed by end of summer.

I had a good time in Phx during my home time. Took Mom to the airport on June 10th for a visit to Diana’s in Oregon. I left my truck at the shop before I sent on home time. Then returning on June 10th to find it would be another 2 days before it would be ready was disheartening. They had it a week, what could have taken so long? The transmission had a problem and the repair part was delayed getting there. Then it seemed an electrical problem showed its claws and they couldn’t find it. Finally the decision was made to move out of my truck and move into another. But the driver of the truck I was supposed to move into still had almost all his stuff in the truck! Clothes, tools, food, sleeping gear and maps. I wasn’t about to invade this guys home! Why did he leave all his gear in the truck? Did he think he was coming back to it? And besides, where would I put his stuff? No, I think I’ll wait till Monday and talk with my regular FM to see what’s up. So, wait over the weekend. I talk with my FM Monday morning and am told he’ll look into what’s happening. Late Monday afternoon, we again talk and I’m told he’ll get back with me soon. My wait drags out to Tuesday mid-morning and I call him.


Mexican Hat Rock. Pretty cool, that top hat is balanced just right. Amazing what God has built for us to enjoy and marvel at. The town just down the road is named Mexican Hat.

Hole in the Rock is just around the corner. It actually is a very large hole. Caused by the flow of water as it rushed from the valley a few million years ago.

I’ve never been through the Valley before. Really pretty, the evening sun throwing strange shadows. And the rock formations are sooo cool. Their colors not running together but evenly arranged, one on top of the other.

Aren’t you at the truck yet? he asks? No, who was supposed to call me? You said you’d call me, I replied. But before he could find an excuse I just asked him to tell me what’s the plan. I’ve got a load to pick up at 4pm, and take to CA for delivery next day at noon. That’s doable but there’s not much time to get my personal stuff together and loaded onto the truck. So I simply get a few things together and head out. The truck is an older Freightliner that’s noisy, dirty, and smoky and doesn’t run very well. I get to LA’s delivery on time and they have another load for me to pick up and take to TX for delivery on Sat, 1500 miles in 3 days. A good run really. But I tell my FM this truck needs repairs. I’m told I should get to TX first then put it into a shop. No, it’s going to the shop first, I tell him. While not very happy with me, he really doesn’t have a choice when I declare these repairs are a safety issue and I had to get it into a shop for repairs. That was Thursday, June 17.

During a walk in the hills above Golden, CO, I spotted this moose or elk or really big deer in the woods!

Well, it’s the evening of June 22 and my truck is still in the shop. Hopefully I’ll get it out tomorrow, get the XM radio installed and detailed and get a load out of town on Friday. I’ll keep you posted…..

One Response to “Another day…another dollar in debt…”

  1. Jordan said

    I love that there is the big white writing so that no one misses the sweet hole! It’s like a child got ahold of those large vibrantly colored chalk and drew it!

Leave a Reply

