got something done, feeling good….

September 28, 2010

This is the front door to the Middlesex, CT Hospital. Such a design mixed in with very, very old homes and buildings. Like the church down the street, from 1788. Sorry about being out of focus; guess my hand wasn’t tooooo steady. But you get the point.

I can’t just drive into a terminal for repairs on the truck or trailer anymore. I’ve got to do them myself or pay for them. Ouch! No real repairs need today but I did a couple of things myself. I installed two battery cables from the generator to the battery box. Had to route them up and over the truck frame, exhaust pipes and drive-line. I encased the cables in black plastic conduct, taped every 6 inches, and quick-tied enough to keep the cables from wearing on any metal corners or hot exhaust. I had a leaking oil sensor on the generator and used plumbers tape to stop it. …..Well, so much for the repair work I did. Apparently, the electric fuel pump on the generator is connected to something that is HOT all the time. It drained my truck batteries and the truck was DEAD Sunday morning. Thankfully, I wasn’t in a big hurry. I finally had a repair truck come out and charged the batteries enough to start the truck. Took almost 2 hours. But he was a nice guy and we swapped stories. What do I owe? I asked….Twenty bucks sound OK to you? I paid it before he changed his mind! PTL.

I hear race cars real close by. Yep, they’re just across the highway. Sounds like fun. But I’ll pass tonight. I’m tired and think I’ll just get something to eat and watch a DVD and get to sleep early. Not many miles to run tomorrow so will be in Middletown, CT in no time.

This is why truckers should use a GPS system designed FOR truckers!

The weather the last couple of nights has been wonderful. Cool, bug free and when I can find a place without a noisy truck, it’s usually a good night sleep. The trees are just beginning to turn color up here in the Northeast. As I get closer to PA and CT tomorrow, I’m sure I’ll see more color in the trees. I’m sooooooo ready for fall and winter to be here. I’m just dog-tired of the heat and humidity everywhere I go.

My load of plastic pipes made from sand to insulate something are coming out of NC went to a power plant being rebuilt south of Handover, CT. It blew up a couple of years ago, killing 6 workers. Big news story up here. Beautiful area, right off the river, with lots of boats. On my walk along the river last night, a red fox crossed about 30ft in front of me. I was looking at the boats across the river and turned back just in time to see him walking into the woods. Pretty coat with a long bushy tail. No, my camera was not in the ‘ready’ mode, or you’d have a picture. But there are some kind of beetle here with a armor shell. I know I’ve seen them before but can’t remember their name or were I saw it. And my picture of him didn’t turn out.

It’s been misting or a very light rain for most of today, 9-27. I went for a walk downtown tonight to buy some pain meds. By the time I started back to the truck it was pretty dark. My walk was on a closed road along the river, cut through the woods. I thought it was going to be real dark but it turned out street lights were on. I guess they couldn’t turn that section of the road off.

This is the harbor in Middletown, CT. Not sure what the river waterway is named. But it sure was pretty.

The colors are just beginning to turn up here. The further north I drove the more trees I saw turning from a bright green to browns, yellows, and reds. They aren’t brilliant yet, but they will soon. One of the workmen told me they usually get snow by third week in Oct!

Hope all is well, take care…..

Leave a Reply

