just say Thank You….

January 3, 2011


The plane and moon back dropped against the blue sky and trees made for an interesting shot. Somewhere on Highway 89 headed toward Payson, Dec. 24

A&E had a show about KISS going to a military base. I only saw part of it but apparently the show put together various KISS military tours to highlight his efforts to entertain our troops. It was one heck of a great program. It ended with a combination of the four military ‘fight’ songs. I couldn’t help but think about all the men and women who came before the current troops. How they must have loved America. And America and its leaders loved them right back. Yet I couldn’t help but wonder how the much America and its current leaders love our troops. I happened to be reading the front page of USAToday, Tuesday, Dec. 21, and their article on what Mr. Obama thinks America stands for today.

WOW, I haven’t updated since before I left Peru, IL. Here is the down and dirty. Left Peru with a load to Omaha, NE, Dec 21 late in the afternoon. Dropped the trailer and picked up another to Ontario, CA. I went by of Phx and saw family for Christmas, having a good visit seeing most everyone. Had a big dinner at Lyle’s with all the relatives there. Mom and I drove over to the North Valley to see some real pretty Christmas lights.

Finished run into CA, emptied out Monday morning and by noon had another load going to Joliet IL. I’m now waiting to get emptied and have a load to pickup in Eagan, MN going back to Ontario, CA for Tuesday. I was told they had the freight to keep me busy and this has been an excellent start. It’s raining in Joliet with snow on the ground left over from their Christmas storm. It’s supposed to melt this weekend. Eagan has freezing rain with a low of 4 and high of 21. That won’t be fun but it’s winter in the North! I’ll head to CA by way of KS, and the panhandle of OK and TX to I40, then West to CA. Weather should be nice, as I think I’ll be below this blast of winter weather.

My Uncle Richard, Mom’s sister Ida’s husband, passed away Thursday night in ND. He will be very missed. So very glad I was able to get back there to see them this summer. He’s no longer in pain and I’m sure is singing with the Angels.

Here are some photos I caught along the way the last few weeks. Hope you enjoy.
My wish for all of you in the New Year is that you would take the time to say Thank You and shake the hand of every veteran you see, no matter how young of old, current or past. Tell them you appreciate their sacrifice and the sacrifice their family has made.


The peaks above Flagstaff are always so pretty. But they could use more snow. I did hear a few days after I drove through there they received a ton of fresh power!


The view from my hotel in Peru, Il. What you don’t see is the frostbit nose I had all week!

This river is almost frozen over. The edges of the water seem to be frozen but I wouldn’t walk on it.


The wet snow hung on the trees just waiting form someone to unknowingly walk under them.

A storm rolls in over the valleys of northern New Mexico as I was heading to ‘our’ valley Dec. 23. I just love the formations, shapes and colors they form. With just enough sunlight shining through them to make they interesting.

Leave a Reply

